Pray Now!

The Hexagram consists of 2 equilateral triangles

The two triangles represent the concept of As Above So Below. The Hexagram can also be used to represent the four classical elements. When broken down into it’s two constituent triangles the elements of Fire, the upward triangle, and Water, the downward triangle, become apparent. When laid over each other than the element of Earth [downward triangle with line] and Air [upward triangle with line] appear within the Hexagram.

Within Orthodox Judaism the use of the hexagram is rejected by many because of its associations with the occult.

If you very carefully examine the hexagram [Star of David] it will reveal something quite remarkable. It has SIX points, forms SIX equilateral triangles, and its interior forms a SIX sided hexagon! The Hexagram represents 666.
It contains a six, within a six, within a six. It is also called the Star of Moloch [Molech], the Star of David and Solomon’s Seal.

In John Milton’s Paradise Lost, Moloch is one of the greatest warriors of the fallen angels:

First MOLOCH, horrid King besmear’d with blood
Of human sacrifice, and parents tears,
Though, for the noyse of Drums and Timbrels loud,
Their children’s cries unheard that passed through fire
To his grim Idol. Him the AMMONITE
Worshipt in RABBA and her watry Plain,
In ARGOB and in BASAN, to the stream
Of utmost ARNON. Nor content with such
Audacious neighbourhood, the wisest heart
Of SOLOMON he led by fraud to build
His Temple right against the Temple of God
On that opprobrious Hill, and made his Grove
The pleasant Vally of HINNOM, TOPHET thence
And black GEHENNA call’d, the Type of Hell.

The Hexagram can also represent union. The upward pointing triangle represents the male aspect whilst the downward triangle represents the female. When they are entwined it represents the sexual union of the active and passive forces in nature.

The Unicursal Hexagram [below] is used in rituals because it can be drawn in a continuous line rather than the Hexagram being of two overlaid triangles. The unicursal hexagram is a more complicated symbol than the regular hexagram. In Chaldean Numerology the numerical value of the unicursal hexagram is: 2

Pentagram/Pentacle: The origin of the pentagram [the Pentacle is a star-shaped pentagram surrounded by a circle] symbol is very ancient, according to historical findings, it has been established that the symbol is derived from ancient Sumerian scripts. Pentagrams [below] were used symbolically in ancient Greece and Babylonia, and are used today as a symbol of faith by many Wiccans and Pagans. It is believed that the pentagram has magical associations and that it has apotropaic properties. Many people who practice neopagan faiths wear jewellery incorporating the symbol. Christians once commonly used the pentagram to represent the five wounds of Jesus Christ. In Thelema, the pentagram is used to represent the microcosm – the earthly Kingdom of Malkuth.

The Four elements of Nature: Earth (lower left point), Air (upper left point), Fire (lower right point) and Water (upper right point), are best represented by the points of the Pentacle. And the fifth point, pointing upwards is the quintessential fifth element of nature, which is the Divine Spirit.